Azrael: Episode XIII: Hell Hath No Fury – Part Three – Vici

Five crimson dots struck the grey concrete, shattering as they collided with the drab floor and casting bloody beads around them.

A red beam cut across the floor, burning a thick black line across the concrete as the severed steel blade fell to the floor.

I squeezed the two wires together in my hand, connecting the power bank to the beam refractor I’d cut out of the robot in the previous room. The beam shot out from where I’d concealed it in a pocket on my stomach, cutting low across the room, slashing the legs from the androids and knocking them to the floor.

A bullet split the facial casing of a droid standing behind me.

“Oh no you don’t.” Vivian shouted over the barrel.

If I was going to disable the androids’ explosive capabilities, I would have to immobilize all of them and Vivian long enough to access the control core. I needed to take down Vivian first.

Well, first things first.

I pulled the steel katana shard from my stomach, the blood dripping to the floor from the stab wound I’d redirected to my abdomen in my fight to stand.

My claws shot out, shredding through the hydraulics at the robots’ shoulders and disabling their motions as I used them to shield myself from Vivian’s gunshots. The bleeding opening in my side fought me as I swung, tearing the machines apart.

The androids began to stack up around me, clawing at my legs from the floor and pushing back hard.

I had to find a new way to take them out of the fight.

I pushed them back, curving a restrained arm over my torso as

I struggled to pull the scepter from my pocket.

I fired the laser beam in a broad arch over my shoulder, finally freeing my arm to grab the scales.

They folded out into place, bringing the weapon to its full power.

A broad swing with it on my right side connected with an android standing just behind me, cracking the plastic plate on its chest as it flew yards backward in a grey streak. It collided with the glass, shattering the floor-to-ceiling widow as it careened into the night.

Every arch of the forceful weapon drove them back, pushing them across the floor and driving them through the windows, the midair explosions of the shattered androids lighting up the city skyline.

A steel cable spiraled through the air, gripping Vivian’s leg as I pulled her down from atop the computer tower. I blocked her sword with the blade of my scythe as she caught herself, keeping her back before I swung the scepter in to push her back across the room. I pulled the cable as Vivian slid across the floor, weaving around her sword and dodging her to one side as she flew past me.

I’m half sorry about this.”

I pushed her across the floor with the scepter, throwing her out the window as the steel cable went taught.

I pulled it toward the side of the massive computer system, clipping it to a steel support bar to secure it in place before turning back to the mob of androids in the room.

 


 

I detached my tablet from the machine, tapping my headset to confirm to the others that I’d remotely disarmed the explosives embedded in the legion of machines.

Michael.” I said. “The explosives and the nav computer have been disarmed. Finish the robots. I’m going after Vivian.”

Azrael, now isn’t the time for revenge.

“No, Michael. It’s not.” I said. “But now is the time when every eye in this city is going to look up to see someone fighting to save them, and if I’m not that person for them now, I’ll never be what they need.”

Michael paused. “Go.” He said. “Be their legend.

“Not a legend.” I said. “Just a man. Doing the right thing, at the right time.”

The wind howled through the broken window as I stepped to the edge of the floor, peering over the ledge down the side of the massive steel building.

The twisted steel cable swung through the wind, absent of the debutante assassin formerly hanging from the end.

Shit.

I turned around, throwing a round charge into the center of the room amid a set of deactivated androids in front of the computer.

My wings spread as I dove into the sky, glass shattering in an eruption of fire as the navigation computer exploded behind me.

I hit the street beneath the Gothic Federated building, one hand gently touching the concrete as my senses spread out, detecting the life in the area in search of Vivian Malveaux. She couldn’t have gotten too far.

A woman around the corner ran down the street.

I shot up to meet her, flying around the corner to see a red-headed woman with a grey android not far behind.

With a flick of my wrist one of my claws shot out, extending to a full-length serrated sword as it pierced the neck of the machine, sparks flying out as it collapsed.

The woman halted abruptly at my presence, taken aback as she fell backward to the ground.

I stopped, raising my open hands in front of me for a moment before extending one toward her.

Are – are you alright?” I asked.

She looked up at me for a moment, a confused expression mixed with surprise and fear.

“…Yeah.” She said, taking my hand as I put the other on her shoulder, slowly helping her back to her feet. “I think so.”

“I’m looking for a black-haired woman in a white coat.”
She shook her head, collecting herself. “Did she have a briefcase?”

“She may have.”

“I saw her heading for Trinity Church.” She said.

“Thanks.” I said. “Now we have to get you out of here.

I tapped my headset. “Gabriel. Gothic Federated.

A blue streak appeared at my side.

“Be there as soon as I can.” He smiled.

“Get her out of here.”

Gabriel was visibly confused by the smoothness of my voice, shrugging it off as he turned his gaze to her.

“He’ll get you to safety.” I said. “Go.”

“Wait.” She said. “Who are you?”

“…Azrael.” I said.

Her eyes widened as Gabriel picked her up, her surprised expression curling into a smile as a memory of a blind man in a flower shop came flooding back.

“Jenny.” She smiled. “Maybe I’ll see you around.”

Gabriel warned her to hold on tight before he flew down the street.

Time to finish this.

 


 

I kicked the church door open, marching into the room to view a grey machine standing in the center of the aisle.

A red beam split the door before my hands pierced the android’s chest, wrenching it open in a storm of electrical sparks.

I surveyed the area, an open stairwell door meeting my gaze mere seconds before I was through it.

Vivian stood beneath the pale light of an elevator, scowling as she looked up to see me.

She slung a steel-coated field case behind her back as she picked a briefcase up from the floor, complementing the one in her opposite hand as she threw them both into the room between us.

They unfolded into two pallid death machines, red eyes sparking to life as the steel elevator doors slid together.

I lunged forward hard to stop them from closing, a heavy copper slug bouncing off my shoulder before the doors touched together.

The androids ripped like paper between my blades as I cut them to ribbons, forcing the elevator doors open and grappling up alongside the cabin after it had reached the top floor. I broke through a service hatch in the top, crashing into the elevator and forcing the doors open to access the roof.

Man, what is it with me and elevators?

They opened to a broad rooftop, stone railings stretching out over the grey-washed shingles.

Vivian turned around from a silver HVAC shaft that stretched across the surface of the roof, the field case folded open into a remote computer atop it between a collapsible satellite dish attached to a small broadcast tower.

She pushed back a flustered hair, holding up a trigger with her opposite hand before drawing a collapsible black steel ninjato.

She smiled. “My dad was a businessman, and I was trained as an assassin.” She said. “They both taught me the same lesson: Always have a backup plan.”

She laughed, lowering her head before her gaze found its way back up. “You are spectacularly bad at dying when you’re supposed to.” She said. “Knowing that, and how you’d find the nav computer, plan B seemed like a pretty solid idea.

“Sure, without that computer they can’t exactly seek-and-destroy, but they still know the database, and they can still kill whatever they can see. But this?” She said, gesturing to indicate the trigger in her hand. “I coded an override for this.

“Everything goes boom.” She said.

“Maybe it won’t be all the targets I’d hoped, but… They’ll know.

You’re that desperate?” I asked.

“…Remember the first time we did this little dance?” She asked. “Not the Hangman with the whole hero act, but this. Cold steel. Blood. The first time we fought.

“It was after the armored truck job at Pharaoh.” She smiled.“You broke my motorcycle helmet.”

I remember.

“You showed me something that day. True fear. I watched as you tore open the world as a shadow, you split my skin and infested it with maggots, turned yourself into a monster.” She said. “It was…beautiful.

“You see, what I saw that day was terror. Unadulterated and pure. The kind of thing that would haunt someone for the rest of their nightmare-ridden life. Fear.

“You’ve seen how fear affects people. How it haunts them. How everyone who you could ever make think twice before hurting this city was good enough.

“Fear drives us. And after the criminals in this city know fear, real fear, they will know what order means.

Why, then.” I said. “If it’s all about fear, about the order, why are they all looking up at the sky for us, right now? Why are they looking for heroes? Saviors.

“…Why are they all looking at us?

“Cowardice.” She said. “Evil avoids justice.”

Then what about you?

“I have done nothing but help this city.” She said. “I am fighting back the evil that has been destroying it for decades.

By manipulating it? By hurting its people?” I said.

You.” She growled. “This city made you. It needs this. This is its order.

“I have fought to protect them, from things like you. From the things you brought here. I have bled for Bastion, and still it rallies behind you because evil is better off in your hands. Because of cowardice.

“When Nero looked out over the blazing wreckage of Rome in sixty-four, he feared. He did everything he could to save his city. But I look at Bastion armed with a knowledge he lacked.

“That the Rome rebuilt in the ash was the finest empire to ever exist.

“It’s fire that cleans the world. Whether they realize it yet, this is what they need to survive. You are not a permanent solution.”

Maybe.” I said. “They’ll find a way on their own. Eventually without people like me.

But only without people like you.

We’ll see.” She snarled.

My blades shot up as she lurched forward, arching her ninjato toward me with deadly force.

The steel scraped together as her sword slid across my scythe, doubling back and twisting the blade forward.

She swung for my stomach as I went for her hands, the effects of the two strikes coming together to drag her sword hard across the top of my legs as I cut over the outside of her forearms.

We both pulled back after the injuries, Vivian taking the free moment to trade the detonator for her pistol, firing a round through the hole that the beam I’d hidden had burned through the lower front of my jacket. The bullet bounced off the plating, bruising my stomach and forcing me back before she fired again, piercing the intersection at the edges of the plates and tearing into my abdomen.

I slashed forward with my hand, one of the claws extending to a full-length blade as it flew from my hand, tearing across her side.

I jumped forward as she contracted around the wound, slashing just far enough to knock the pistol from her hand as she curved out of the way.

She sighed. “I have struggled to help our city. To fix the problems that caused you. I did no more than what they let me do. What they needed. I thought you would understand it, but I realize, maybe you’re more like them than I thought.

“Because all you have done is take.

A second black ninjato extended into her other hand as her blades tore forward, slashing into my arms as I struggled to defend.

The Malveauxs gave everything to Bastion!” She said. “My father died for this city!

Her blades cut across the back of my legs, circling around to tear into my lower back as she spiraled across the rooftop.

It ruined my life. My childhood.” She said, swinging wildly with every word. “My family! My friends! Zoe! Scarlett!

I am the person who will rebuild this city. I am justice. I am the Fury.

“I have tried to solve the same problem you’ve spent your life fixing, and you have stolen everything from me!

A black ninjato plunged into the lower part of my stomach, bloody steel emerging from the opposite side of my jacket and rained crimson beads down my back.

I fell to my knees, clenching my teeth and clutching the front of the stab wound.

Vivian stepped to the side, releasing the sword in my stomach and holding the other one backhanded as she slid the flat across my shoulder, blade angled across my neck.

“I’m half sorry about this.” She said. “I would have thought we could do something amazing with this city.”

She curved the black steel forward, slick with blood as I fell to the roof behind her.

She wiped the sword over the edge of her smooth leather glove, flicking the blood off her hand as she retracted the blade and returned it to her coat.

Vivian put her hand in her coat pocket, wrapping her fingers around the detonator as she looked out over the city, her eyes landing on Imperial Tower before they drifted to Kingston Steel.

“This is for you.” She whispered. “This is the first step toward making Bastion a beautiful city.”

“Veni, Vidi, Vici.”

She squeezed.

She lifted her hand from her pocket, gazing nonplussed at the severed android power pack in her hand, loose wires hanging over her fingers.

Looking for something?

She turned, eyes locking on the detonator in my hand before I raised the other, firing a copper-jacketed round from the pistol I’d knocked away from her in the fight.

She fell to one knee, clenching her teeth and gripping the bullet wound in her leg before she looked up at me in a furious amazement.

She lunged forward, swinging her sword past my leg as she fell to the side, unable to support herself over her injury.

No!” She yelled. “I will not let you take this from me!

She pulled her secondary pistol from her belt, pulling the trigger as I gripped the gun, forcing it to one side as the bullet zipped past my shoulder.

I wrenched it from her hand, removing the magazine and pulling back the slide as I pushed her back.

I shot a steel cable into the ground behind her, wrapping it around her sword as she swung it wildly in front of her before twisting it from her hands.

I hit her with the pistol, clawing across the side of her face as she fought me before I grabbed the back of her collar, dragging her by her coat across the roof.

I threw her to the edge where she laid on her hip, struggling to crawl across it as I stepped backward.

I pulled the plastic button off the detonator, throwing it down to the roof.

Vivian stretched her hands out to it, coming up mere inches short as I fired three rounds into it, smashing it to pieces right before her eyes.

She collapsed in front of it as I disabled the second gun, casting it aside with the first.

I pulled the sword from my gut, throwing it aside as Vivian laid in the gravel atop the roof.

She cried out as I pulled her up by the back of her collar once more, dragging her to the edge of the building where she sat on her knees.

Look.” I said.

She peered down into the street below, looking over a sea of broken machinery and shattered grey plating.

I released the coat as she dropped her shoulders, all the fight that remained leaving her as she took it all in.

“I… I failed.”

She began to shake her head as her dumbfounded expression slowly turned to grief.

“I can’t… I did everything I could.”

I’m sorry, Vivian.

She turned. “Why.” She grunted. “I would’ve made every criminal in this city run in terror. Why?

Because –” I paused. “Because that isn’t what it’s about anymore.”

She sighed, running her hand over her face before it settled on her jaw.

“You said that the two of us had something in common.” I said. “That we both saw this city and looked up. Wanted something better.

“They want that too.” I said. “But just like us, they don’t look down and see what’s wrong with the city. They don’t look at the crime, and the poverty, and the hatred. They look up, because they’re looking for something else.

“What if we had looked up and seen something better? Something bigger than all of us. Some one thing that could give us all hope that Bastion wasn’t lost, that there was still a chance for every one of us to make a difference.

“This city doesn’t need fear.” I said. “It needs hope. It needs regular people, doing the right thing, at the right time to do it.

“There are good people here.” I said. “Lots of them. All they need is someone who believes that they can stand up when it’s necessary.

“There’s greatness in Bastion.” I said. “We just need to find it.”

We sat in silence for a few moments as Vivian considered it, leaning to one side and crawling back to lean against the side of a wall.

I sat down beside her, slumping into place and wincing as I clutched the stab wound in my abdomen.

She put her fingers on the bridge of her nose, closing her eyes as she sighed. “…What the hell happened?”

I sat against the wall, pressing against the wound in my stomach as she pulled a flask from the pocket on the inside of her jacket, lifting it to her lips.

She lowered it, wiping her mouth with the side of her hand before she held it closer to me, refusing eye contact and shaking it. “You want some?”

I lifted it, taking a pull off of the flask before coughing it out. “Ugh, what the hell is this?”

“Scotch.” She said, looking back at me insulted as she took back the flask. “That’s top shelf.

“Top shelf trash.” I said, pulling the stainless steel from my interior jacket pocket. “This is scotch.”

She took the steel container indignantly. “Lecture me about scotch, like I don’t know.” She pulled off of it. “Can’t believe you – Oh damn, that is good.”

“Told you.”

“Man, what is this?”

“Black Royal, got it from one of my favorite places on fifth.” I said. “I’ll see if I can sneak you a little bit in prison.”

She sighed. “Yeah, I guess that’s it now.” She said. “Man, I’m gonna miss scotch.”

“I miss it whenever it’s not – Oh god, maybe I do have a problem.”

“I have my fair share too, darkness.” She said, pulling a long white cigarette from a metal case. “You should’ve met my mom.” She said.

“I think you mentioned her.” I said. “I’m sure you don’t strong opinions.”

She smirked. “My dad was the diamond in a two-decade rough.” She said. “My mom was never more than an employer. Trained me every day. I had to learn to take the beatings until I could start giving them back.”

“I learned from someone like that.” I said.

“I was raised to be this company, then after everything I did, after the years of the training, and the work, she gave it to someone else. She couldn’t let me have the one thing she ruined my life for.”

“Real grade A piece of work, huh.” I said.

“Piece of shit.” She corrected.

“Your words.”

“That’s why they’re true.” She said. “I just… I was just an agent to my mom. I was actually allowed to be a kid with my dad, but outside of that I never got the chance.

“I just… I don’t know. Maybe I just wanted a normal life.”

I paused. “…When I was seven, my first memory from one of my previous lives was holding my dead son in my arms…So I don’t really know what normal is like either.”

“Damn.” She sighed. “You know… I’ll be honest, I hate this company. Couture ruined my life, for years, and after all of it, it was never even what I wanted. All the backstage assassin stuff, the political control, the rigged elections. All the manipulative crap my mother did, it’s all… outdated. The world needed something different. Maybe… Maybe that is something like you. I just… I don’t know anymore.”

“I know.” I said.  “I spent so long trying to find something, trying to do something for these people. I’m still not sure what they need, but I know there’s good here. I know Bastion is worth standing up for.” I said. “…Maybe you and I are similar. We just have to find the way.”

There was a momentary lapse.

“You know.” She said. “Any other time, any other place. You think you and me could’ve been something?”

“What’s that supposed to mean?”

“I don’t know.” She said. “Whatever you want it to mean.”

“You don’t know anything about me.” I said.

“You speak French, you’re skilled, you’re dramatic, you’ve got some great taste in scotch…” She said, waving the flask. “And that jawline.” She smiled. “Even under the mask.”

I laughed, snatching the flask from her hand.

“I’m serious!” She said. “Well, maybe not like that, but… I meant it when I said we were the same. We both believe in Bastion, in one way or another.”

“Maybe.” I said.

“Maybe this whole thing could’ve worked out better.”

She stared at the ground for a few more moments.

“I gotta ask.” She said. “How on earth did you walk off that last hit? I thought for sure I had you.”

I rolled back my hand, revealing a tightly-wrapped wrist with a deep cut on the underside. “Blocked it.” I said. “Bloody enough to look realistic, and it gave me the chance to switch out the detonator.”

She smiled, shaking her head. “Always a new trick.” She said. “Man, that looks bad. Might have tendon damage.”

“I’ve got good first aid back home.” I said.

“Well I’ve got some right here.” She joked, taking another sip from the flask. “Maybe that’s why I can’t kill you.”

“Good medical, or your closet alcoholism?”

“Hey, I don’t think you should be saying much there.” She laughed, wincing as she clutched the cut in her side.

A series of red and blue lights shone off the walls of the buildings up the street, signaling Captain Slate’s arrival with the police.

“Well.” She said. “You’ve made a worthy… arch-nemesis.”

“That’s quite a title.” I said.

“I figured you deserve a little better than adversary.” She said. “People I’ve given that title to don’t live as long as you.”

“Appropriate.” I said. “You’ve been a pretty good arch-nemesis yourself.”

She smiled. “Maybe we’ll have to do this again sometime.”

I laughed. “I hope not.” I said. “I’ve got a few too many scars from this one.”

“Well-earned.”

I struggled to stand up, extending a hand once I stood.

“You know.” I said. “I half expected some dramatic last-ditch effort to beat me.”

“Nah.” She said, gripping my wrist and pulling herself up. “I know when I’ve been beaten. I walked away the first two times we did this.”

“I guess so.” I said.

She offered back the flask.

“Keep it.” I said. “It’ll be vintage by the time you get it back after your sentence.”

“We’ll see.”

I stepped to the edge of the building. “…Goodbye, Vivian.”

“Next time, Azrael.” She said. “I’m gonna hold you to that thing you said about sneaking me some more of this.”

“You might be disappointed.” I said.

“Might?” She asked, implicating the possibility that I’d keep that promise.

“Might.” I nodded.

I leaned off the edge of the building, falling out of sight.

 


 

The elevator doors opened, a rush of flashlights and automatic weapons flooding onto the roof as Captain Slate led the pack.

Vivian sat on the edge of the railing, leaning into her knees as she smiled up at the officers.

Slate looked out over the city, absorbing the moment as his officers led the coquettish assassin away, his eyes landing on a black hood staring from a few addresses down.

He didn’t react as he stared, our eyes meeting for a brief moment as he took in the gravity of what had happened.

I smiled at him, maybe for the first time ever.

He returned it, slowly nodding as seven yards of sleek black feathers extended into the sky, carrying me away in the cool Bastion wind.

 


 

Iris walked down a path leading out from the backyard, reaching a small clearing near the edge of the cliff over the Bastion sound. She sat, leaning against a sharp, smooth rock as she stared out over the ocean, taking in the colors spread across the sky as the sun prepared to rise, just beyond reach over the horizon.

She closed her eyes, inhaling the cool summer breath of the ocean and heaving a sigh of relief as she dropped her shoulders.

This was it.

It was over.

She sat there for a few quiet minutes, the wind shaking the trees behind her in the accompaniment of the forest.

The silence broke.

“That’s funny. Usually I’m the one brooding out of sight at parties.”

She opened her eyes, the soft borders around her pupils depicting the purples and brightening oranges of the morning sun as she turned.

She looked up at a man in smooth black plating, bandages wrapping his war-torn arms and his scarred neck where the armor opened just below his collar. His silver eyes smiled through a dark bruise as he extended a crystal champagne flute toward her, a lush sliced strawberry hanging over the edge of the glass.

“Mind if I join, pretty lady?”

She smiled as she took the glass. “Not at all.”

I slid slowly down the side of the rock, wincing as I held my hand to my side.

“Ow, ow, ow, ow, ow.”

“Easy.” She said, helping me down where I fell beside her.

Yeah.” I wheezed. “Turns out getting skewered kinda sucks.

“Weirdly enough, I already knew that.” She snickered.

“So did I.” I said. “No idea why I went and decided to do it again.”

I settled in next to her as she leaned onto my shoulder, putting my arm around her.

“…So what brings you all the way out here, gorgeous?”

She pulled her phone from her pocket, revealing a blurry photo of a black set of wings tearing across the Bastion sky, broadly featured above the caption “Guardian Angels”.

“Well.” I said. “They almost got it right.”

“They’ve seen us now.” She said. “They know who we are.”

I considered it as I nodded. “I guess they do.”

“This is what it looks like when the world changes.” She said. “It’s a whole new place now, in one instant.

“So what do we do now?”

I took a sip from the glass, looking over the water as the top edge of the sun barely peeked back the distant waves. You could almost see the curvature of the earth from here.

I sighed, considering the question. What do we do now?

“Well.” I sighed. “I don’t know. We keep fighting. We stand up when they need us to.

“We show them the way.”

“And what next?” She asked.

The ocean whispered rhythmically as it crashed against the rock below, breeze blowing cool air through a city of silence.

I felt the weight of Iris’s head on my shoulder, her hair soft against the side of my face as I distantly overheard my friends talking in my backyard only a few dozen yards away.

“I don’t know.” I said. “But honestly?

“I think I’m fine with just doing this for a while.”

 


 

The grey hallway stretched down to a guarded blue door, reinforced glass fitted into the upper half bearing a hand-painted word that had rubbed off with age.

A hand pushed against a panel next to the window, opening the door and stepping into an empty room, a long window dividing it on either side of a walled-off desk in the center.

A black-haired woman in an orange uniform sat on one side, looking up at the door as her visitor entered.

A look of surprise splashed across Vivian’s face as I fell into the opposite seat.

She looked at me for a moment, observing a bruised grey eye above what looked like a fractured cheekbone, various cuts from shattered glass across my jaw.

“You look like shit.” She said.

“Thanks.” I grunted. “You’re looking a little different yourself. I thought maximum securities wore white.”

“I just got downgraded in the transfer.” She said. “The Warden’s taken pretty well to me. Says if I keep up the good behavior record, I might be out before I die in here.”

“Nice.” I said.

“How about you?” She asked. “Did they do this to you?”

“No.” I said. “It’s been an… interesting few days.”

“You’ll have to tell me about it.”

“Well, I never get tired of a good swordfight.” I said. “But I don’t know if you’d believe this one.”

“No?” She smiled. “I’ve seen my fair share.”

“Not like this, you haven’t.” I said. “It was… personal.”

“Yeah?”

“I’m… working through it.” I said. “Starting to, anyway.”

“That’s good.” She said. “But I’m guessing that’s not what you’re here for.”

“No.” I said. “I got the files you were looking for. I’ll have someone bring the dossier by sometime this evening… And maybe a housewarming gift for your new cell.”

“You’re too kind.” She laughed. “Any idea where you’re going next?”

“Not sure.” I said. “I just met someone in Cairo who is… a fan, I guess. And a rather interesting connection who’s been doing some similar work in Monaco.”

“Sounds like you’re quite popular these days. Looks like it, too.” She said, implicating my unusually vast wealth of injuries.

“That’s one way to put it.” I said, groaning and placing a hand on my leg as I stood up. “I’ll be back in a few days to talk over the new information.”

“I’ve got all the time in the world.” She said.

I limped toward the door. “Until next time, Vivian.”
“Next time, Az.”

In all the things that happened and all the promising work that I’d done in the months since Vivian found herself on the other side of that window, I’d always felt like there was something off. Something I’d missed, that was just significant enough for me to doubt.

Not trusting her was a logical instinct, but what disturbed me was how defied it was by a strange attraction between us that I still failed to understand.

That, and while I was able to sense the energy of every living being around me, I had never once been able to sense hers.

 

 

 

 

Episode Index

© Josiah Delnay 2016.

Thank you so much for sharing Azrael: Season One with me. This has been an incredible project that I have had unending passion for, and I’m thrilled to have been able to share it with everyone involved.

– Josiah

 

2 thoughts on “Azrael: Episode XIII: Hell Hath No Fury – Part Three – Vici

  1. This is some good stuff! As I’ve said before, you have a gift for dramatic dialog, and I especially liked how the character motivations went back to the first encounter.
    Congrats on getting through the whole season; that takes serious dedication!

    Like

Leave a Reply

